Helensburgh Heritage Trust Photo Gallery

Your online photo album


Home :: Login
Helensburgh Heritage Trust :: Album list :: Last uploads :: Last comments :: Most viewed :: Top rated :: My Favorites :: Search
Choose your language:

Home > Heritage

Most viewed - Heritage
School_Road_Rhu.jpg
School Road Rhu585 viewsA 1909 image of School Road in Row (now Rhu).
Geilston-Hall.jpg
Geilston Hall584 viewsGeilston Hall in Cardross. It was built in 1889-90 by Honeyman and Keppie as a drill hall for the local rifle volunteers. The pale sandstone hall is set back from the road and is in a Collegiate Tudor style. There is a two-storey administration block at the west end incorporating a square tower with a crenellated parapet. The former instructor's accommodation is on the upper level. Today the popular meeting place is operated in trust by the elected Geilston Hall Management Committee, and is a Registered Scottish Charity (SC040631). Photo by Stewart Noble.
Bonar-Law-birthplace.jpg
Bonar Law's birthplace578 viewsThe Andrew Bonar Law story began in this house in Rexton, a small village in eastern New Brunswick, Canada, where he was born on 16th September 1858, the youngest of five children, and he also had two younger half-sisters. His father, the Rev James Law, MA, was a Scottish Free Church minister, his mother Elizabeth a member of the Kidston family of rich merchant bankers which has played such an important part in Helensburgh’s history.
Busy-esplanade.jpg
Crammed esplanade575 viewsA 1930 image of the very busy promenade west of the pier on a warm summer's day.
Fruin_trap.jpg
Fruin journey570 viewsPhotograph of a horse-drawn transport through Glen Fruin, taken c.1910 by keen amateur photographer Robert Thorburn, a Helensburgh grocery store manager.
Tamnavoulin-SN-2-w.jpg
Tamnavoulin564 viewsThe historic Glen Fruin cottage Tamnavoulin, pictured by Stewart Noble in 2015, the year it was bought for redevelopment. The name of the small cottage derives from the Gaelic for ‘hill of the mill’. The vicinity of the cottage is thought to have been the site of a dwelling as far back as the 15th century, while one account gives the date of the present building as early 19th century.
   
2190 files on 183 page(s) 183